Community Legal Workers (CLWs) provide legal, paralegal, and law-related services to the band members of Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN).

Community Legal Workers work with justice personnel and NAN communities. They help clients with legal matters and are often the first point of contact for clients in the court process. They help clients apply for Legal Aid and to find a lawyer.

Community Legal Workers help clients through the justice system and to understand the legal process.

Community Legal Workers function as:

  • Court workers
  • Interpreters for clients,  Duty Counsel, and defense lawyers
  • Commissioners of Oaths for Swearing Affidavits
  • Links between NALSC and the First Nation communities.

A Community Legal Worker works with the Advice Lawyer and assist with the Public Legal Education program.

A few Community Legal Workers reside in the communities they serve. Other  Community Legal Workers have office locations in Thunder Bay,   Sioux Lookout,  Timmins, or Kenora

The Community Legal Workers speak the language of the communities they serve.

Advance Days & Courts

Community Legal Workers attend court in each of the communities they serve.  Some of them also attend courts held in urban centers, e.g. Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout,  Geraldton, Hearst, Timmins,  Cochrane, and Moosonee.

Community Legal Workers are required to be available in the community on the day before court (Advance Day)  and on the Court Day – for all fly-in Courts.

Advance Day is a good time to have your Community Legal Worker help you, e.g. completing forms (e.g. birth registration. etc.) or to have an affidavit sworn.

To contact the Community Legal Worker in your Community or that works for your community please see below:

Jacob Mekanak
Tel: (807) 622-1413
Cell: (807)630-9503
Fax: (807) 344-6904
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: jmekanak@nanlegal.on.ca
Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services
1805 Arthur Street E., Unit100, Thunder Bay, ON P7E 2R6
Bearskin Lake, Cat Lake, New Slate Falls, Sachigo Lake, North Caribou Lake (Weagamow)

Don Sainnawap
Tel: (807) 737-5201
Cell: (807) 738-5076
Fax: (807) 737-7297
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: dsainnawap@nanlegal.on.ca
56 Front Street, Upper Floor, Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1B8
Kasabonika Lake, Kingfisher Lake, Wapekeka, Wawakapewin, Wunnumin Lake

Lloyd Comber
Tel: (807) 467-3225
Cell: (807) 464-3065
Fax: (807) 467-2761
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: lcomber@nanlegal.on.ca
308 Second Street South Suite 6, Kenora, ON P9N 1G4
Big Trout Lake, Muskrat Dam, Lac Seul

Vacant
Toll Free: 1- 800- 465- 5581
Fax: (807) 344- 6904
1805 Arthur Street E. Unit 101, Thunder Bay, ON P7E 2R6
Eabametoong, Webequie, Nibinimak, Ogoki Post, Neskantaga

Evangeline Meekis
Cell: (807) 212-4275
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: emeekis@nanlegal.on.ca
Sandy Lake, Deer Lake, Keewaywin, MacDowell Lake, North Spirit Lake, Poplar Hill

Stella Kiokee-Koostachin
Tel: (705) 997-1285
Fax: (705) 997-7234
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: skoostachin@nanlegal.on.ca
P.O. Box 152, Attawapiskat, ON, P0L 1A0
Attawapiskat, Fort Albany, Kashechewan, Peawanuk,

Madeline Kioke
Cell: (705) 221- 1113
Toll Free: 1- 800- 465- 5581
Email: mkioke@nanlegal.on.ca
119 Pine Street S., Suite 210, Timmins, ON P4N 2K3
Attawapiskat, Fort Albany, Kashechewan, Peawanuk

Roberta Wesley
Tel: (705) 463-1155
Cell: (705)-373-2100
Fax: (705) 463-2255
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: rwesley@nanlegal.on.ca
37 Wawaskashoo, P.O. Box 236, Constance Lake, ON P0L 1B0
Aroland, Constance Lake, Ginoogaming, Hornepayne, Long Lake #58

Jackie Edwards
Tel: (705) 268-5544
Cell: (705) 221- 1112
Fax: (705) 268-5682
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: jedwards@nanlegal.on.ca
119 Pine Street S., Suite210, Timmins, ON P4N 2K3
Takway Tagmou, Wahgoshig, Moose Factory, Moosonee

Martha Kataquapit
Tel: (705) 268-5544
Cell: (705) 288-8900
Fax: (705) 268-5682
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: mkataquapit@nanlegal.on.ca
119 Pine Street S., Suite 210, Timmins, ON P4N 2K3
Beaverhouse, Brunswick House, Chapleau Ojibway, Chapleau Cree, Matachewan, Mattagmi

Darlene Suggashie
Cell : (807)620-5441
Email: dsuggashie@nanlegal.on.ca
Pikangikum, ON P0V 2L0
Pikangikum

Angus Miles
Cell : (807)212-5948
Email: amiles@nanlegal.on.ca
Fort Sever, ON POV 1W0
Fort Severn

Updated September 22, 2021