Community Legal Workers (CLWs) provide legal, paralegal, and law-related services to the band members of Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN).

Community Legal Workers work with justice personnel and NAN communities. They help clients with legal matters and are often the first point of contact for clients in the court process. They help clients apply for Legal Aid and to find a lawyer.

Community Legal Workers help clients through the justice system and to understand the legal process.

Community Legal Workers function as:

  • Court workers
  • Interpreters for clients,  Duty Counsel, and defense lawyers
  • Commissioners of Oaths for Swearing Affidavits
  • Links between NALSC and the First Nation communities.

A Community Legal Worker works with the Advice Lawyer and assist with the Public Legal Education program.

Some of the Community Legal Workers reside in the communities they serve. Other  Community Legal Workers have office locations in  Sioux Lookout,  Thunder Bay or Timmins.

The Community Legal Workers speak the language of the communities they serve.

Advance Days & Courts

Community Legal Workers attend court in each of the communities they serve.  Some of them also attend courts held in urban centers, e.g. Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout,  Geraldton, Hearst, Timmins,  Cochrane, and Moosonee.

Community Legal Workers are required to be available in the community on the day before court (Advance Day)  and on the Court Day – for all fly-in Courts.

Advance Day is a good time to have your Community Legal Worker help you, e.g. completing forms (e.g. birth registration. etc.) or to have an affidavit sworn.

To contact the Community Legal Worker in your Community or that works for your community please see below:

Don Sainnawap
Tel: (807) 737-5201
Cell: (807)738-5076
Fax: (807) 737-7297
Toll Free: 1-877-851-1108
Email: dsainnawap@nanlegal.on.ca
56 Front Street, Upper Floor, Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1B8
Kasabonika Lake, Kingfisher Lake, Wapekeka, Wawakapewin, Wunnumin Lake

VACANT
Tel: 1-800-465-5581
Email: legalaid@nanlegal.on.ca
56 Front Street, Upper Floor, Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1B8
Big Trout Lake, Muskrat Dam, Lac Seul

Lloyd Comber
Tel: (807) 467-3225
Cell: (807)464-3065
Fax: (807) 467-2761
Toll Free:1-844-767-3225
Email: lcomber@nanlegal.on.ca
308 Second Street South Suite 6, Kenora, ON P9N 1G4
Deer Lake, Kee-Way-Win, MacDowell Lake, North Spirit Lake, Poplar Hill

Danielle Meekis
Tel: (807)737-7981
Cell: (807)738-3494
Fax: (8070 737-7297
Please call 1-866-468-5151
Email: dameekis@nanlegal.on.ca
56 Front Street, Upper Floor, Sioux Lookout, ON P8T 1B8
Bearskin Lake, Cat Lake, New Slate Falls, Sachigo Lake, North Caribou Lake (Weagamow)

Jacob Mekanak
Tel: (807) 622-1413
Cell: (807)630-9503
Fax: (807) 344-6904
Toll Free: 1-800-465-5581
Email: jmekanak@nanlegal.on.ca
Nishnawbe-Aski Legal Services
1805 Arthur Street E., Unit100, Thunder Bay, ON P7E 2R6
Eabametoong, Neskantaga, Marten Falls, Nibinamik, Webequie, Mishkeegogamang

Stella Kiokee-Koostachin
Tel: (705) 997-1285
Fax: (705) 997-7234
Toll Free: 1-877-331-0144
Email: skoostachin@nanlegal.on.ca
P.O. Box 152, Attawapiskat, ON, P0L 1A0
Attawapiskat, Fort Albany, Kashechewan, Peawanuk,

Roberta Wesley
Tel: (705) 463-1155
Cell: (705)-373-2100
Fax: (705) 463-2255
Toll Free: 1-855-463-1155
Email: rwesley@nanlegal.on.ca
37 Wawaskashoo, P.O. Box 236, Constance Lake, ON P0L 1B0
Aroland, Constance Lake, Ginoogaming, Hornepayne, Long Lake #58

Jackie Edwards
Tel: (705) 268-5544
Cell: (705) 498-3787
Fax: (705) 268-5682
Toll Free: 1-866-859-3887
Email: jedwards@nanlegal.on.ca
119 Pine Street S., Suite210, Timmins, ON P4N 2K3
Takway Tagmou, Wahgoshig, Moose Factory, Moosonee

Darlene Suggashie
Cell : (807)620-5441
Email: dsuggashie@nanlegal.on.ca
Pikangikum

Evangeline Meekis
Cell: (807)212-4275
Email: emeekis@nanlegal.on.ca
Sandy Lake

Angus Miles
Cell : (807)212-5948
Email: amiles@nanlegal.on.ca
Fort Severn

Updated May 20/21